University of Florida


University of Florida/IFAS
Students currently involved in
Breeding Programs

 

University of Florida/IFAS
Graduate Students in Plant Breeding Programs

 

List of Current Graduate Students
(Fall 2016)

 

Marco David Goyzueta Altamirano
marco.goyzueta@ufl.edu
Peanut Breeding (Dr. Barry Tillman, Agronomy Department, NFREC)

Ashlee Anciro
ashleeanciro@ufl.edu
Strawberry Breeding (Dr. Vance Whitaker, Advisor and Dr. Seonghee Lee, Co-Advisor, Horticultural Sciences Department, GCREC)

Muhsin Ibrahim Avci
mavci@ufl.edu
Wheat Breeding Program (Dr. Ali Babar, Agronomy Department)

Krishna Bhattarai
krishnabhattarai@ufl.edu
Gerbera Daisy Breeding (Dr. Zhanao Deng Environmental Hortculture Department, GCREC)

Jessica Chitwood

jchitwood@ufl.edu

Tomato Breeding (Dr. Sam Hutton, Advisor, Horticultural Sciences Department, GCREC)

Ashley Duval

ashleyduval@gmail.com

Cacao Breeding (Dr. Jose Chaparro, Horticultural Sciences Department)

 

Norma Flor

ncflor@ufl.edu

Turfgrass breeding (Dr. Kevin Kenworthy, Agronomy Department)

Maksud Hossain
mhossain3164@ufl.edu
Wheat Breeding and Genetics (Dr.
Ali Babar, Agronomy Department)

 

Jahangir Khan
jkazrc@ufl.edu
Wheat Breeding Program, (Dr. Ali Babar, Agronomy Department)

Newton Kilasi
nkilasi5@ufl.edu
(Dr. Balasubramani Rathinasabapathi, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Jennifer Lauture
jlauture@ufl.edu
Loblolly and Slash Pine (Dr. Gary Peter, School of Forest Resources and Conservation)

 

Jasmine Lopez

jlopez23@ufl.edu

Tomato Breeding (Dr. Sam Hutton, Advisor, Horticultural Sciences Department, GCREC)

Daniel Mancero
dmancero@ufl.edu
Peach Breeding (Dr. Jose Chaparro, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Matthew Mattia
mrmattia@ufl.edu
Citrus Breeding (Dr. Fred Gmitter, CREC, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Mary Ann Maquilan
memetmaq@ufl.edu
Peach Breeding (Dr. Jose Chaparro, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Andrew Migneault
amigneault@ufl.edu
Sugarcane Breeding (Dr. Hardev Sandhu, Advisor and Dr. John Erickson, Co-Advisor, Agronomy Department)

Ben Nichols
bnicholsfl@gmail.com
Peach Breeding (Dr. Jose Chaparro, Horticultural Sciences Department)


Ethan Nielsen
e.nielsen@ufl.edu

Citrus Breeding (Dr. Jude Grosser, Horticultural Sciences Department)


Elliot Norden

elliot17@ufl.edu   

Blueberry Breeding (Dr. Jose Chaparro, Horticultural Sciences Department)

 

Dev Paudel
dev.paudel@ufl.edu
Bioenergy Feedstock (Dr. Fred Altpeter, Advisor and Dr. Jianping Wang, Co-Advisor, Agronomy Department)

 

Douglas Phillips
dal64372@ufl.edu
Blueberry Breeding (Dr. Patricio Munoz, Horticultural Science Department)

 

Kelly Racette

kar2889@ufl.edu

Peanut Breeding (Dr. Barry Tillman, Advisor and Dr. Diane Rowland, Co-Advisor, Agronomy Department, NFREC)

 

Esteban Fernando Rios
estebanrios@ufl.edu
Forage Breeding (Dr. Patricio Munoz, Dr. Kevin Kenworthy, Co-Advisor, Agronomy Department)

Katie Rogers
ktlrogers@ufl.edu
Citrus Breeding (Dr. Balasubramani Rathinasabapathi, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Alexandra Rucker
alex.m.rucker@ufl.edu
Forage Breeding (Dr. Patrico Munoz, Agronomy Department)

Natalia del Rocio Salinas Aponte
natsa79@gmail.com
Strawberry Breeding (Dr. Vance Whitaker, GCREC, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Haley Sater
hmsater@ufl.edu
Blueberry Breeding (Dr. Kevin Folta, Horticultural Sciences Department – formerly with Dr. James Olmstead)


Sumit Shrestha

sumitp@ufl.edu
Small grain breeding (Dr. Ali Babar, Agronomy Department)

 

Edgar Sierra

e.sierra@ufl.edu

Tomato Breeding, M.S. (Dr. Sam Hutton, GCREC, Horticultural Sciences Department)

 

Andrew Sims

adsims@ufl.edu 

Pine Breeding (Dr. Gary Peter, SFRC)

Rebecca Wente
rebeccawente@gmail.com
Tomato Breeding (Dr. Sam Hutton, GCREC, Horticultural Sciences Department)

Xinjie Yu

xjiexu@ufl.edu

Ornamental Plant Breeding (Dr. Zhanao Deng, Environmental Hortculture Department, GCREC)

Jianjian Xu

Jxu2s@ufl.edu

Ornamental Plant Breeding (Dr. Zhanao Deng, Environmental Hortculture Department, GCREC)

Lin Xing
lxing@ufl.edu

Forage Breeding (Dr. Patrico Munoz, Agronomy Department)